[Skip to content]

Innerpage Banner


Contact Us CTA

Training from TWI leads to internationally recognised CSWIP and BGAS-CSWIP certification – qualifications required by employers for engineering jobs all over the world.

CSWIP certification demonstrates competency and represents the industry standard in training for non-destructive testing, welding inspection and various related disciplines.

Our painting inspection courses lead to BGAS-CSWIP qualifications. BGAS-CSWIP is a well-established scheme that is, like CSWIP, recognised by employers the world over.

TWI is the world’s largest training organisation in welding, welding inspection and non-destructive testing, and trains more than 20,000 people every year across its global network of offices.

CSWIP (Certification Scheme for Welding Personnel)

The CSWIP scheme is:

  • an internationally recognised mark of competence for people engaged in welding and/or inspection related jobs in manufacturing, constructing, operating or repairing high integrity welded structures, plant or components

  • an accredited scheme - the UK government's Department of Trade and Industry has accredited CSWIP for personnel certification in accordance with ISO/IEC 17024 through the United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS)

In general, the scheme offers three levels of certification Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3.

There are three simple steps to certification:

  • Mandatory approved training

  • Relevant work experience

  • Examination at a CSWIP Test Centre

For up-to-date information/requirements documents, please visit www.cswip.com 


TWI runs the British Gas Approved Scheme (BGAS) formerly referred to as 'ERS', on behalf of NATIONAL GRID Plc.

Although it is recommended that candidates receive training, there are no specific training and experience requirements for any of the qualifications.

The system is primarily designed for inspectors involved in one or more of a number of activities related to pipelines. BGAS-CSWIP qualifications are highly regarded pipeline specific qualifications, which complement the well-known CSWIP inspection qualifications, both are internationally recognised.

For up-to-date information/requirements documents, please visit  BGAS-CSWIP